Thank You to Our Platinum and Presidential Sponsors


 Northeast Ohio Chapter Certification


1. HFMA Certification Requirement           

HFMA’s certification programs enable you to demonstrate a mastery of a variety of topics within the healthcare finance industry.


  • Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP), format revised in 2011
  • Fellow of the Healthcare Financial Management Association (FHFMA)
  • Advanced Technical Study certificate programs, new in 2011
  • Certified Revenue Cycle Representative (CRCR) program, new in 2011

2. Become a Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP)

Status must be maintained every three years by earning 90 contact hCHFP certification requirements include:


  • a minimum of 3-5 years healthcare financial management experience
  • current and active regular or advanced HFMA membership* *Student membership does not qualify
  • successful completion of the CHFP certification examination

3. Achieve Fellowship Status (FHFMA)

FHFMA certification requirements include:


  • Current CHFP designation
  • HFMA member for 5 years
  • Bachelor degree or 120 semester hours from an accredited college or university
  • Reference from an HFMA Fellow or current elected HFMA chapter officer

4. Maintaining CHFP and FHFMA certifications

HFMA members who have earned either the Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP) or Fellow of HFMA (FHFMA) designation must maintain their certification by meeting two basic requirements:


  • Remain an active HFMA member in good standing
  • Complete 90 contact hours in eligible education programs every three years
    • At least half (45) of these contact hours must in healthcare finance-related topics
    • At least 20 contact hours must be completed in each of the three years

5. Advanced Technical Study Certificate programs

Advanced Technical Study Certificate programs are online educational programs that award a certificate, but not a certification, after completing a program. These programs are not required to achieve or maintain CHFP, FHFMA, or CRCR certifications and do not have maintenance requirements. Programs include:


  • Mastering Patient Financial Services
  • Mastering Healthcare Accounting and Finance
  • Mastering Managed Care

6. Certified Revenue Cycle Representative

Formerly a credentialed program, the CRCR program has changed to “Certified Revenue Cycle Representative.”. Requirements for CRCR certification include completing an on-line study course and on-line exam. Maintenance of the CRCR certification requires completion of an on-line exam every 2 years.


As we continue to progress through the new normal, the Northeast Ohio HFMA membership committee wanted to provide awareness of some additional membership benefits that can be accessed from home. The HFMA membership includes access to six HFMA certifications at no additional cost. These certifications provide valuable CPEs, professional development skills, and a potential for career advancement. These are a great way to stay competitive in the market without leaving home or spending additional money above your membership. Certifications also include digital badges you can share in your email signatures, resume, and LinkedIn profile. Starting with the basics as a Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP) provides baseline skills for a deeper dive into healthcare financial specialty certifications. Below we outline the six certifications and the link to learn more.


1. Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP): Dive into the new financial realities of health care and come up with a better business skill set, new ideas on financial strategy, and insights into future trends


2. Certified Revenue Cycle Representative (CRCR): Increase your knowledge, competencies, and productivity with best-practices recommendations to positively impact the revenue cycle and enhance patient experience.


3. Certified Specialist Accounting & Finance (CSAF): Strengthen your skills and mastery of financial reports and statements, risk-sharing arrangements, managed care contracts, and profitability ratios.


4. Certified Specialist Business Intelligence (CSBI): Learn methods for looking at data and using tools to ensure the right information is illuminated and used to enable powerful actions and decisions.


5. Certified Specialist Managed Care (CSMC): Gain specialist-level knowledge to navigate payment models and rates, benefit coordination, reimbursement calculations, and cost-control incentives.


6. Certified Specialist Physician Practice Management (CSPPM): Demonstrate your physician practice finance, cost accounting, revenue cycle, coding, reimbursement, and payer contracting acumen.




For more information about the HFMA Certification Programs, contact the NEO Chapter Certification Chairs Robert Matitia - (216) 839-6672 x251 or Brian Nestor - (216) 844-7797, or contact the HFMA Certification Department by e-mail to or by phone at (800) 252-4362 and ask for Certification.

Certified Members/Specialty

Donald G. Pangrac, FHFMA


Frank M. Klaus, FHFMA, CPA


Sandra J. Wolfskill, FHFMA


Michael A. Szubski, FHFMA, CPA


Don P. Paulson, FHFMA


Susan B. Mekinda, FHFMA


William J. Bogdan, FHFMA, CPA


James F. O'Donnell, FHFMA, CPA


Michael R. Vehovec, FHFMA, CPA


Cynthia A. Dormo, FHFMA


Rhonda L. Ridenour, CHFP


Geoffrey Allen Himes, CHFP, MBA


Robert S. Matitia, FHFMA, CPA


Karen J. Mihalik, FHFMA, CPA


Christine E. Aucreman, CHFP


Chris Maeder, CHFP, CPA


Keeth F. Stone, CHFP


Brian C. Nestor, FHFMA, MBA


Greg L. Palmer, FHFMA


William L. Trexler, CHFP


Thomas E. Henderson, CHFP, MBA


Kelly R. Linson, CHFP


Eugene A.Thorn, III, FHFMA, CPA


Patty M. Salsman


Rebecca A. Baytos, CHFP


Lacy K. Sharratt, CHFP




To the top




© Northeast Ohio Chapter – HFMA | All Rights Reserved